Thursday, April 19, 2007

Mark Dever's "Canon of Theologians"

Tony Reinke has posted an excellent summary of a Breakout Session with Mark Dever at the Sovereign Grace Leader's Conference: here.

Dever supplied an annual reading schedule entitled a "Canon of Theologians" that looks like this:

January – Early church writings (1st-3rd centuries)
February – Augustine (354-430)
March – Martin Luther (1483-1546)
April – John Calvin (1509-1564)
May – Richard Sibbes (1577-1635)
June – John Owen (1616-1683) and John Bunyan (1628-1688)
July – Jonathan Edwards (1703-1758)
August – C.H. Spurgeon (1834-1892)
September – B.B. Warfield (1851-1921)
October – Martyn Lloyd-Jones (1899-1981)
November – C.S. Lewis (1898-1963) and Carl F.H. Henry (1913-2003)
December – Contemporary authors like John Stott, J.I. Packer, Iain Murray, R.C. Sproul and John Piper

Be sure to see Tony's article for notes on each month. There's also a link to download the audio of Dever's chat.

Dever posted an article explaining his reasoning behind his reading schedule on the T4G blog here.

This June, Lord willing, I will be in Greenville for the Whetstone Conference. Dr Mark Minick will have a session on books. I'm looking forward to hearing his words on this subject, too. Be sure that I'll post notes from that session! Blessings.